I Saw It In A Sneaker

There was an aura to Austin Texas that drew me in at first glance (it didn’t hurt that it was in the midst of SXSW 2013) and I knew that I wanted to make this city my home. It was a fairly drastic decision for me since the first 22 years of my life were spent in northern Virginia; however after getting my degree from GeorgeMasonUniversity I decided now was as good a time as any to make a change.

Image

The greatest thing about SXSW was all the free beer and food I could handle. The surprise savings allowed me an unexpected luxury; new sneakers. I took my budget for food and beer and invested in some kicks. With all the walking around we did that week what became evident about Austin was that people rock that heat when it comes to sneakers. My head would stay fixed on people’s feet as the guys would have amazing Foamposites and girls would walk by with Griffey’s that put mine to shame.

blake films

These 2 photos courtesy of @blakefilms

When I’m in search of a sneaker it’s all about the inspiration and comfort. If I’m about to spend a hefty penny on a non necessity they need to be comfortable. My two favorite sneakers I have ever owned were the Jordan Black Cat 3s and the Playoff 8s. Both ridiculously comfortable that I had to lay them to rest after many hours spent on the court. At SXSW I was walking and biking so much I started thinking about snagging a pair of Air Max 95s. They would be a fresh addition to my collection that I could get a lot of use out of. My buddies took me to Barton Creek Mall and after going to a couple stores I stumbled upon a Finish Line that had a pair of Air Max 95 EM “Hawaii” editions. I had never seen them before but I wanted them as soon as I saw them so I spent the 160$ without hesitation. My thinking went like this, the city of Austin provided me the basic needs so I could splurge on something for myself. My first pair of 95s had to be uniquely loud so I knew I couldn’t go wrong with the “Hawaii’s.”

95 blog pic

The wrong thing I could have done that week was not purchase sneakers because little did I know was that those sneakers were the first investment I would make into the city I now call home. The city provides beautiful scenery, beautiful women and of course that heat on feet that makes you do double takes walkin down the street.

1st blog conc

About Mario Posada

Originally from Washington D.C I graduated from George Mason University in 2013. I relocated to Austin, TX and currently work for a Non-Profit in the city. My different passions inspired me to start this blog.
This entry was posted in Sneakers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

