Sharks, Tributes and Hall of Famers

7th blog pic

Releases in general get me excited but when Nike lets loose 3 pairs of heat on one day a bank heist scenario pops in my head to acquire them. This Saturday September 14th Nike is releasing a new Zoom Hyperflight, Jordan 5 and an Air Pippen 1. If I could get my hands on just a third of the releases this Saturday my September would be made complete.

shark

In August the Zoom Hyperflight released colorways in a “Tiger” and “Lion” scheme neither of which stirring any interest from me. This Saturday, the Zoom Hyperflight Premium “Dark Armory Blue-Gamma Blue” nicknamed “Shark” hits the shelves. This is my favorite Zoom Hyperflight and sneakers period to be released this September. When the color scheme is based on the greatest predator species in history, I’m fully sold. The upper portion of the shoe has the gradient getting lighter from top to bottom. If I got this shoe it would be strictly a basketball shoe because who doesn’t need that “Shark” mentality on the court, preying on opponents.

air-jordan-5-doernbecher-2-620x324

The Jordan 5, releasing this Saturday, is titled the “Doernbecher’s.” These limited editions were made in conjunction with OHSU Doernbecher Children’s Hospital as a tribute to a previous patient. The basis of this design was made by 12 year old Isaac Arzate, a talented young athlete who sadly passed away in 2012 from cardiac arrest. The shoe has Isaac’s baseball number 9 and basketball number 31 on the sneaker along with quotes all over the midsole based off Isaac’s interests. The final product is a one of a kind retro 5 that also glows in the effin dark creating an extravaganza of a Jordan.

nike-air-pippen-1-retro-black-flash-lime-anthracite-1

The retro Air Pippen 1 comes out with the “Camo Black Flash Lime-Anthracite” color scheme that hits stores on Saturday. Although I am more of a fan of the “Midnight Navy” edition these Camo Black’s are the only sneaker with any Camo on that I like. I confess I am a hater of Camo editions of sneakers. I have little and less to camouflage from and I inherently believe camo goes against what sneakers are supposed to be. In regard to this Air Pippen 1 I could give two shits that it has camo on it because it’s minimal and the flash lime makes up for anything. These kicks have been on ebay for a couple weeks but officially go in stores Saturday. Physically going to the actual store to get sneakers is 31.8% of the joy and sometimes I’m a 10 sometimes a 10.5 so “who gives a shit” (shout out to Lucky Luchiano from Boardwalk) if they’re online already.

September 14th is going to be a jam packed release day if I hit it big between now and Saturday I’m copping all three. Most likely that won’t be the case but anything can happen between now and the end of September especially in regard to the “Sharks”. These sneaks are great additions to established lineups and provide aficionados with that #heatonfeet.

About Mario Posada

Originally from Washington D.C I graduated from George Mason University in 2013. I relocated to Austin, TX and currently work for a Non-Profit in the city. My different passions inspired me to start this blog.
This entry was posted in Sneakers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

