The Games the Same, Just More Fierce

the wire

It’s easy to be fresh with a clean pair of sneaks, I just make sure my shirts don’t have holes in them and my pants are intact but sneakers are another story. I’d rock a different pair of sneakers every day if I could but as were all bound by the post modern forces in our society (shout out to The Wire) I’ll just have to wear the few that I got. Circumstances change like the weather so I’m always in search of the perfect pair sneakers. The perfect sneakers don’t exist but there’s a hell of a lot of good ones that will appease me for now.

nike-sb-project-ba-gamma-blue-black-white-0341

Nike SB brought a whole new arsenal to the Nike army and now is truly a force to be reckoned with. Professional skateboarders are truly blessed to have access to the freshest sneaks as an occupational necessity, I hold out hope I’ll have that one day. For the time being I’ll respect from afar for kicks such as the Nike SB Project BA “Gamma Blue” in a low top suede design. I swear half the Nike editions are “Gamma” something now but these SB blues is straight fire. I think suede on sneaks always look great even though I have yet to figure out how to clean that shit. The Project BA used black accents along with a white midsole and gum bottom to create this new pair of SB’s. The bottom sole provides great traction and might even make me ride my Tunnel skateboard more often if I purchased them always with a helmet of course.

PhantomLagoonPreview-630x419

Asics is always in the midst of a lethal collaboration and this time they’re in cahoots with BAIT to create the “Phantom Lagoons.” BAIT used the Asics Gel Saga as a base to the coolest nicknamed sneaks to release this fall. The initial photos show a sick contrast of blue, light blue and purple in one of the comfiest shoes out there with the Gel Saga. This pair of BAITxASICS is still a month or two from hitting stores but the hype will build as more info streams out of this collaboration.

toki blackThe Nike Toki was not a lineup I knew much about before this blog post but when I came up on the Toki CC in black and dusty grey my eyes burned from the new heat. The shoe isin suede and has leather trims with a bright white midsole. The mint accent on the shoe completes this stylish Nike and even though I’d live in fear of dirtying these kicks it is worth the anxiety. The Premium Navy edition is another strong Toki edition which has plenty of vintage designs on the market.

Sneakers are the sickest shoes out there and companies like Nike and Asics have been using collaborations to expand styles and bring new life to existing lineups. The louder the shoe the more I want it in most cases because that’s the game were in “so we either step up or we step the fuck off. That’s the game, yo” (Bodie, The Wire). Whether it’s an SB, part of a Gel Saga or something called Toki the pursuit is endless for that #heatonfeet.

About Mario Posada

Originally from Washington D.C I graduated from George Mason University in 2013. I relocated to Austin, TX and currently work for a Non-Profit in the city. My different passions inspired me to start this blog.
This entry was posted in Sneakers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

