You Are Appreciated

woman-warrior2

Even though this post doesn’t go public until October 3rd it is still dedicated to my mother whose birthday is October 2nd. This is the first birthday of hers that I’ll miss since I’m in Austin, TX and she’s in Florida. My mom put the first sneaks on my feet and definitely gave me some heat starting in elementary school. She knew I loved having sick kicks and she always went halvesies on pairs if not just buying the whole thing. Through sheer chance my mom is in Miami for her birthday weekend at the same time Sneakercon will be going on, jelly is an understatement. She’s worked hard her entire life as a teenager in Honduras and as an adult in the U.S raising three kids. I’ve had it 100 times easier than her every day of my life and if I can work just a fraction as hard as she has I’m not concerned about the future. She worries about me every day and I miss her always but she raised me tough and she understands why I left to join Americorps.

adidas-d-rose-4-brenda-4

The Adidas D. Rose 4 named “Brenda” is in homage to his Mother whose favorite color is red. The shoe will be one of the lightest basketball shoes on the market and will release October 10th. The red and black design is lethal and its emotional meaning to D Rose was enough for me to make it a topic on the blog. I gained a new goal from reading about the “Brenda’s,” get a shoe designed for my mother that is fresh and comfortable.

nike-sb-ba-olive-gold-3

The Nike SB Project BA continues to churn out the sick color schemes and their “Sequoia-Medium Olive-Metallic Gold” release keeps the trend going. The shoe scheme looking like Mother Earth herself is my favorite Project BA to release. The lightning bolt over the swoosh charges this edition into the super heat category. The olive and green contrast is a beast of a duo and the metallic gold swoosh is killer. These kicks are available in skate shops such as Scene, I need to get a pair of BA’s before the end of the year and these might just be it.

shaqnosis-escape-la-2

The Reebok Shaqnosis “Escape from L.A” edition depicts a pivotal point in NBA history. The decision by Shaq to leave L.A and join the Miami Heat was stunning. The move meant another ring for Shaq and D Wade’s ascent to a championship player. The design does not make light of the momentous decision as red clashes with purple and yellow on the midsole. Although I thought the Kurt Russell film was garbage this version of “Escape from L.A” looks like an instant classic. My recent membership to the Austin YMCA has me thinking I’m a need more than one pair of court kicks and this pair of Shaqnosis should be it.

The only moral fibers in my body are because of my mother it was her guidance that made me want to help others. I have a long way to go until I reach the point where I can help her out but I’ll go great lengths to make her proud. She gave me my eye for sneaker heat and I’m forever indebted for her support and for copping me my first #heatonfeet.

About Mario Posada

Originally from Washington D.C I graduated from George Mason University in 2013. I relocated to Austin, TX and currently work for a Non-Profit in the city. My different passions inspired me to start this blog.
This entry was posted in Sneakers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

