Saddle Up

horses 2

2014 is upon us and I couldn’t be more excited for what’s in store with my job and of course, the blog. A burning thought I have every year, what do the Chinese say about the upcoming year? The Chinese zodiac has declared it to be the “Year of the Horse” and it promises to be momentous. There’s much to accomplish this year and before I can start, I’ll need to find the right pair of sneakers.

year of the horse

New Balance yelled “first” when they released images of the classic 574 donned with a Year of the Horse theme. 2013’s Year of the Snake saw countless sneakers using the Asian Zodiac as its theme. New Balance was at the forefront last year with several Zodiac designs being produced. This year’s clean design uses a red suede upper highlighted with gold and black accents throughout the shoe. The detailing on the shoe laces is one of my favorite parts in this latest New Balance creation. Word is New Balance is working on a few other renditions with the 574 pertaining to the Year of the Horse theme. It’s not known yet when this release will hit stores but the kicks are available at ID4shoes for early purchase.

The 574 was a staple in my sneaker closet growing up and as I’ve gotten older it’s become clear I need to put the 574 back in rotation. The Year of the Horse could soon become the Year of New Balance if they continue to produce designs like these. I’m optimistic that 2014 will be the best year for #heatonfeet.


About Mario Posada

Originally from Washington D.C I graduated from George Mason University in 2013. I relocated to Austin, TX and currently work for a Non-Profit in the city. My different passions inspired me to start this blog.
This entry was posted in Sneakers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

