It’s Almost Here

SX n

In a month the greatest event in all of Austin will commence and preparation is essential for this momentous week. The benefit of working in Austin public schools is spring break lands during SXSW and 2014 looks to be the biggest ever. My roommates and I have started to RSVP for the dozens of free events that week because if you’re spending money at SXSW, you’re doing something wrong. We take it so seriously that there’s a spreadsheet in circulation where all the free events are classified under food, drink, and music. The key to SXSW is to have bicycles, it makes travel simple and fun with the weather being so nice during March. I learned a lot about Austin last year at SXSW, one, the city’s inhabitant’s rock sneaker heat, and two, I should probably live there.  I’ll need two things this year, a good road bike and a sick pair of sneakers and I only have a month to prepare.

GL3 grey

Comfort is always the essential factor when it comes to the sneakers I purchase and Asics never disappoints in that regard. The Gel Lyte 3 is the cleanest design in the Asics arsenal and this spring is filled with new releases. The new release is in a Grey/Teal color scheme that uses a black contrast on the midsole. The design is finished with suede and mesh to provide stability and cushion. My favorite part of the color scheme is the speckled print on the bottom sole. The latest Gel Lyte 3 is a must cop this spring especially for all the walking and biking done during SXSW.

Kamikaze 1

The Reebok Kamikaze continues to churn out classic schemes and the Kamikaze 1 “Black/Red” The shoe is done in a black base with red stripes covering the entire shoe and a white Reebok logo to finish off the design. With spring being a few weeks away outdoor basketball will become the norm and these Kamikaze 1’s are the perfect shoes to keep my feet safe. The “Black/Red” Kamikaze 1 is my favorite Reebok release of 2014 but I’m sure I’ll have a new favorite soon if Reebok keeps up with this trend.

I have a feeling winter is starting to wind down in Texas and with the warming temperature, there’s much to look forward to. I’ve been looking forward to SXSW 2014 since SXSW 2013 and this year I’ll be better prepared. Who knows maybe during all the music, food and free booze I’ll expand the blog. In the midst of the festival madness, inspiration is everywhere especially when it comes to #heatonfeet.

About Mario Posada

Originally from Washington D.C I graduated from George Mason University in 2013. I relocated to Austin, TX and currently work for a Non-Profit in the city. My different passions inspired me to start this blog.
This entry was posted in Sneakers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

