Just Across the Pond

BP 3

The best way to avoid problems is to plan ahead and when it comes to sneakers, preparation is essential. I try to keep my sneakers in good shape but the daily wear and tear takes its toll on any pair of kicks. I’m currently witnessing the decline of my “Hawaii” Air Max 95s, they’re not near death but they certainly aren’t what they used to be. The cleanings have healed some of the wounds but their placement as my every day shoe exacerbates the injuries. The onset of the decline has triggered the need to look for potential replacements. After a few weeks of research, the two best candidates unfortunately are not in the U.S but across the pond in Europe.

black grape AM95 In early February I had come across information about a “Black Grape” Air Max 95 that had just hit the UK. The original “Grape” 95’s are one the freshest designs in that Air Max lineup. The “Black Grape” edition is inspired by the “Black Grape” Jordan’s, which are another favorite of mine. The midsole design fades from grey to black and the purple and teal accents give it the signature “Grape” look. The tongue is donned in purple and the lace loops are done in teal while the entire shoe sits atop a black sole. Maybe these shoes are too fresh for America right now but I’m hoping they’ll get stateside soon.

grey AM95 The Cool Grey/Light Crimson Nike Air Max 95 has hit the European shores and once again Americans are left out of their initial release. The midsole features different shades of grey and ends with a black accent. The orange on the Nike check and Nike bubble goes great with the shoe’s blue design on the lace loops. The final product stays true to the Air Max 95’s reputation of clean, comfortable, and classic designs.

 The current unavailability of these shoes is actually a blessing in disguise because it’s given me time to figure out how I’d actually afford a pair of these kicks if they hit the states. The arrival of spring temperatures in Austin, TX has me feeling refreshed and ready to find replacements for some of my current weathered #heatonfeet.

About Mario Posada

Originally from Washington D.C I graduated from George Mason University in 2013. I relocated to Austin, TX and currently work for a Non-Profit in the city. My different passions inspired me to start this blog.
This entry was posted in Sneakers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

